Make Way for Homeschool!

23 Aug

This is it! Just a few more weeks and Veronica officially starts homeschool! And I’m not nearly prepared! I’m working on it though. At the moment we have a disaster of an office area that I am going to attempt to transform into a “mini classroom”. It may or may not work but seeing as this will not be our permanent residence and that Veronica will only be doing school for part of the day I figure we can make it work. Yeah, I know Veronica is only 3 and she doesn’t necessarily need to start school now but I thought this would give me an opportunity to see if this program that I chose for her is a good fit and…most of all…if me homeschooling my children is what I am really meant to do. It’ll be an interesting “school year” but one that I am actually looking forward to.

The program I will be using is called Little Saints and is connected with the Charlotte Mason homeschooling method. So far, I like the way the program sounds and we are still awaiting the curriculum to arrive in the mail.

In the meantime, we have decided to sign Veronica up for ballet/tap/gymnastics at The Little Gym. She tried a free introductory class last week and she really had a ball…until her “accident”. In the beginning she did 15 minutes of tap and another 15 minutes of ballet. Then the group of little girls (all Veronica’s age) move into the gymnastics area where they do a half hour of gymnastics. One of the instructors was assisting Veronica on the high bars, twirling her round and around…when I noticed the look of terror on Veronica’s face.  She started crying and the instructor gave her a hug and told her to find me (I was in another room but I could see everything through a big glass wall). Veronica came out, teary eyed and said, “I peed my pants!” Ugh. I wasn’t prepared for that. I had no extra clothes for her because I thought it was only an hour and Veronica hasn’t had an accident for months! Luckily, there was only 10 minutes left so I took her home…although she was unwilling to. So we signed her up. I think it’ll be good for her. She get some exercise and meet some new friends. The price was a little steep but I realize that no matter where I look I’ll run into the same problem. But it just means we’ll have to sacrifice some things this year. And I don’t mind that.

I’m always hesitant when mentioning that I am going to homeschool. Like I’m ashamed or something. Most people have the same responses, though: “She won’t get the social experience she gets at school…etc, etc” Actually, I’m noticing now that there are a lot more families choosing to homeschool. I am unsure why exactly but there are many reasons why we are at least trying out homeschooling. For one…we can’t afford Catholic school. And I don’t want to send my children to public school (for many reasons). Another thing, I am unhappy with Catholic schools nowadays. Well…I wouldn’t use the word “unhappy”…I guess, after experiences working in Catholic schools, I feel that there is something deeply lacking and it deeply troubles me.

There is a lot about homeschooling that I love. It’s more flexible so there is more time for extracurricular activties. Your children will work at their own pace so there is no danger of them falling behind. Your children get one on one time with their most important teacher: YOU. You can also customize the curriculum to make it as enriching and exciting as you want. The Charlotte Mason method is all about “living books”….so, instead of reading boring textbooks, you’re reading about experiences. And there are opportunities for your children to get out and experience God’s world and learn about all his creation.

I personally think the whole “social” issue is over-used and not true. Unless, you have one or two kids and bar them from the outside world until their adults I don’t think you’ll run into any problems. I plan on having lots of kids and Veronica is already rather sociable anyways. Plus, she’ll be involved in much in the future. There will be ample opportunities for socializing.

After writing this I am quite certain that homeschooling is the route we will most likely take. And I’m glad I am trying this out now…with Veronica at 3. It gives me opportunity to prepare and find out what works and what doesn’t work. Then I’ll be prepared for when Veronica begins kindergarten and her younger siblings start school. I’m ready to take on this challenge. And I have faith that my children will gain much from this.

One Response to “Make Way for Homeschool!”

  1. quaintscribbles August 23, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    I think you will enjoy homeschooling and the freedom it brings. Socialization and homeschooling is a big myth in my opinion. Most homeschoolers are much more socialized than public school kids. You can always check out your local co-ops if you feel you want more socialization. Most not only offer great classes, but also include field trips and parties.

    I have been homeschooling my daughter for about 6 years now. We use an online curriculum called Time4Learning as our core. We supplement with whatever we feel is necessary and/or anything she is interested in learning more about.

    Best wishes on your new journey!

    Joyfully,
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

