September Fresh

13 Sep

I’ll admit, I love September. Not because Summer is drawing to a close (because here is seems to have just begun) and the first hint of Fall blows through on the morning breeze. It is the time for new beginnings. Children are starting a new year of school and are entering into a whole new way of learning. And with it comes new challenges, new memories and (hopefully) new friends. It is also a time to start afresh and with a clean slate. And that is what I love so much about it.

This year is particularly exciting. Veronica is starting homeschool preschool and her ballet/tap/gymnastics lessons (the lessons run like this: ballet 15 min, tap 15 min and gymnastics 30 mintues). It is hard to believe she’s old enough for school. It’ll be interesting to see if I have the knack for this homeschooling gig. I feel pretty energized about it.

I feel refreshed, howevever, in a whole new way.  The past couple of months I have taken on several different new hobbies. Actually, I can’t really say I have taken them on because that would be a lie. I merely have an interest in them. Sewing. That is probably my new favorite hobby. I don’t ever have any time to do it, though. But from the couple of spare hours I had and would sew and I was hooked. I managed to sew a simple skirt for me and I am almost done with a skirt for Veronica. I have a long list of projects I dream of one day completing. Maybe someday I’ll be able to sew my own wardrobe. I hope…I wish.

I have also taken an interest in jewelry making. Only thing is…I haven’t made squat. What I have done is found rocks in my backyard, tumbled them in our rock tumbler, and drilled holes in the rocks with our rock driller. I have a vision as to what my Etsy store would be called and what my jewelry would look like….but….I don’t really know where to start as far as jewelry making. And it costs money to start making jewelry. In my dreams, my Etsy store has many admirers and “lots” of sales.

Did I mention to you that I am now the owner of a ukelele? Yep! And I have not played it yet. Luckily, YouTube has loads of tutorials so you can learn the basic steps online. My ultimate goal is to know how to play (while singing) “Tiny Bubbles” on a hot, lazy summer day. Maybe by next summer. If I have time, that is.

Time. I don’t have time. Money. I don’t have money. Sigh….

The sewing bit, however, I find useful. I wish I had always learned how to sew. But I appreciate that I somehow have found an interest in it. It’s amazing what  glass of wine and a sewing machine can do. Anyways, with this knowledge I can eventually use it to hem skirts, pants and mend clothing. Although, I will shamefully admit I can’t recall how to properly sew a button.

In the end, however, it’s fun picking up new interests and setting new goals. It’s what prevents me from losing who I am. And it’s a great learning experience…not only for myself but for my kids. They’ll see me trying new things and “succeeding” and maybe that’ll be something they pick up as they grow and learn. We’ll see.

But, for now, here’s to the month of September….and for all the opportunities it has to offer!

2 Responses to “September Fresh”

  1. Jonathan September 13, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Here’s the reason why I personally was excited to see the ukelele:

    It looks like there may even be tutorials on Youtube related to this specific song. 🙂

  2. Val September 13, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I can’t really help you with any other sewing tips, but I can teach you how to sew a button!!

Leave a Reply

